Saskatchewan. Dept. of Public Health. Psychiatric Services Branch

Zone d'identification

Type d'entité

Secondary Agency

Forme autorisée du nom

Saskatchewan. Dept. of Public Health. Psychiatric Services Branch

forme(s) parallèle(s) du nom

Forme(s) du nom normalisée(s) selon d'autres conventions

Autre(s) forme(s) du nom

  • Psychiatric Services Branch

Numéro d'immatriculation des collectivités

Zone de description

Dates d’existence



On April 1, 1950, the Division of Mental Services in the Department of Public Health was reorganized into the Psychiatric Services Branch, with Dr. D.G. McKerracher named as director. The branch's original mandate included administering psychiatric hospitals, training schools and psychiatric short-term treatment units in general hospitals and administering community psychiatric services, including mental health clinics and providing teacher-psychologists to consult on mental health issues in schools.

In 1950, the branch was responsible for two psychiatric hospitals (North Battleford and Weyburn), the Saskatchewan Training School (Weyburn), one psychiatric ward (Munroe Wing, Regina General Hospital), two full time mental health clinics (Regina, Saskatoon) and six part-time mental health clinics (Moose Jaw, Weyburn, Yorkton, Swift Current, North Battleford and Prince Albert). Two teacher-psychologists were added in 1950, bringing the provincial total to seven, located at Weyburn, Swift Current, Moose Jaw, Saskatoon, Prince Albert, North Battleford and Yorkton.

In the early 1950's, the branch expanded its mandate to include the provision of training programs for its professional staff in all institutions. A psychiatric research program was also established. Research was conducted in the various psychiatric institutions and focused primarily on schizophrenia, senility, anxiety and depression, and alcoholism. In 1955, the Research Unit headquarters were transferred from the Munroe Wing at the Regina General Hospital to University Hospital, Saskatoon.

Around 1964, the branch adopted a regional approach to the delivery of its programs and services. The province was divided into three regions (Yorkton, Southern and Northern), each overseen by a regional director with staff of various disciplines offering a range of psychiatric services to the population in that area. By the late 1960's there were eight psychiatric regions (Moose Jaw, Saskatoon, Prince Albert, Weyburn, North Battleford, Yorkton, Regina and Swift Current).

Around 1970, the branch director and deputy director became known as the executive director and associate director.

In 1972, the psychiatric nursing training program was transferred to the Department of Continuing Education. On December 1, 1972, all programs for mentally challenged individuals, including the training schools at Prince Albert and Moose Jaw, were transferred to the newly organized Core Services Administration within the Department of Social Services.

By 1974, the branch continued to offer services to the eight psychiatric regions. It was responsible for administering the Saskatchewan Hospital, North Battleford, five psychiatric wards in hospitals (Saskatoon, Regina, Moose Jaw, Yorkton and Prince Albert), eight full time mental health clinics and 39 part-time clinics. Psychiatric research continued to be centered out of University Hospital, Saskatoon.

On July 1, 1974, the Department of Public Health was renamed the Department of Health. The Psychiatric Services Branch continued to operate in the new department.


Statut légal

Fonctions et activités

The primary function of the Psychiatric Services Branch was administering mental health clinics, facilities for the mentally challenged, short term psychiatric treatment centres and psychiatric hospitals in Saskatchewan.

Textes de référence

The Department of Public Health Act (S.S. 1923, c.9)

Organisation interne/Généalogie

Contexte général

Zone des relations

Entité associée

Saskatchewan. Dept. of Health. Psychiatric Services Branch

Identifier of related entity

Type de relation


Dates de la relation

Description de la relation

Entité associée

Saskatchewan. Division of Mental Services (1947-1950)

Identifier of related entity

GA 67

Type de relation


Dates de la relation

Description de la relation

Entité associée

Saskatchewan. Dept. of Public Health (1923-1974)

Identifier of related entity

GA 53

Type de relation


Type de relation

Saskatchewan. Dept. of Public Health


Saskatchewan. Dept. of Public Health. Psychiatric Services Branch

Dates de la relation

1950-01-01 - 1974-07-01

Description de la relation

Zone des points d'accès

Mots-clés - Sujets

Mots-clés - Lieux


Zone du contrôle

Identifiant de notice d'autorité

GA 65

Identifiant du service d'archives

Règles et/ou conventions utilisées

Rules for Archival Description (RAD)



Niveau de détail

Dates de production, de révision et de suppression

Authority record created on 2008-10-23. Approved 2012-03-06. Last modified on 2017-11-29.




Department of Public Health Annual Reports
AMICUS Authorities - no entry found

Notes de maintenance

  • Presse-papier

  • Exporter

  • EAC

Sujets associés

Lieux associés