Saskatchewan. Bureau of Publications

Identity area

Type of entity

Primary Agency

Authorized form of name

Saskatchewan. Bureau of Publications

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

  • Bureau of Publications

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



The Bureau of Publications was established on May 1, 1922. A minister was assigned overall responsibility for the bureau while a Commissioner of Publications was appointed by the minister to manage the daily administration. The bureau's original mandate was operating travelling libraries; lending books to clubs, associations and individuals under a system referred to as "The Open Shelf" ; preparing and procuring moving pictures illustrating various phases of the activities of the Government of Saskatchewan for educational purposes; publishing all advertisements required by the government other than "The Saskatchewan Gazette"; and publishing books, pamphlets, or bulletins issued by government departments that were not required to be published by the King's Printer.

In 1944, responsibility for the travelling and open shelf libraries was transferred to the Provincial Librarian. By the mid 1950s, the Bureau's mandate had been expanded considerably. In 1956, the Bureau was organized into numerous sections and branches as follows: News; Special Projects; Mailing Room; Photographic Services; Tourist Branch; Northern Branch and Parks Branch. The Tourist Branch was responsible for developing and promoting Saskatchewan's tourism industry. The Parks Branch was tasked with developing and supervising designated recreation and resort areas within provincial parks or forests. Photographic Services provided a variety of photographic services to all government agencies.

On March 29, 1957 the Bureau of Publications Act was repealed and the bureau's functions were transferred to the newly created Department of Travel and Information effective April 1, 1957.

The Ministers in charge of the Bureau of Publications included: Samuel J. Latta (1923-1930); Howard McConnell (1930-1934); Charles Dunn (1935-1938); E.M. Culliton (1939-1941); William Franklin Kerr (1942-1944); Clarence M. Fines (1944-1952); Joseph W. Burton (1952-1956) and Russ Brown (1956-1957).

The Commissioners of the Bureau of Publications were as follows: William A. MacLeod (1923-1927); William Franklin Kerr (1927-1928); T.A. McInnis (1931-1934); Samuel J. Latta (1935-1944); Galen H. Craik (1945-1955); and W. Roy Bell (1956).


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

The original mandate of the Bureau of Publications was to operate travelling and lending libraries; communicate news and information on the activities and programs of the Government of Saskatchewan; and publish advertisements required by government.

Mandates/sources of authority

The Bureau of Publications Act (R.S.S. 1921-22, c. 14)

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

The dates of ministers in charge and commissioners of publications are approximations only.

Relationships area

Related entity

Saskatchewan. Dept. of Travel and Information (1957-1960)

Identifier of related entity

GA 114

Category of relationship


Dates of relationship

Description of relationship

Saskatchewan. Dept. of Travel and Information is the successor of Saskatchewan. Bureau of Publications

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

GA 116

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used

Rules for Archival Description (RAD)



Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Authority record created on 2011-07-18. Approved 2013-04-10. Last modified on 2017-11-29.




AMICUS Authorities - no entry found.
The Bureau of Publications Act
Canadian Almanac
Department of Travel and Information Annual Reports
Government of Saskatchewan Directories

Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places