Series S 83 - Regulations Review Committee (Devine Government) series

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Regulations Review Committee (Devine Government) series

General material designation

  • Textual record

Parallel title

Description type

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code

S 83

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1982-1991 (Creation)
    Saskatchewan. Executive Council

Physical description area

Physical description

0.520 m of textual records

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator


Biographical history

The Government of Saskatchewan is based on the Canadian parliamentary system. There are three branches of government - legislative, judicial and executive with the latter represented by the Executive Council. In practical terms, the leader of the party with the most members of the Legislative Assembly is designated President of the Executive Council. He/she then chooses an executive council or cabinet of ministers to head various departments and hold responsibility for various portfolios. The number of members of executive council varies with the decision of the President. Cabinet ministers are usually, but not required to be, a member of the governing party and may also be appointed as minister-without-portfolio.

With the creation of the province of Saskatchewan in 1905, existing members of the territorial executive council were continued until the first general election on December 13, 1905. Walter Scott was elected as Premier and first President of the Executive Council. Members were known as Commissioners until December 18, 1909 when they became known as minister of their respective portfolio.

Executive Council currently (2019) has seven main branches: Cabinet Planning; Cabinet Secretariat (Office of the Cabinet Secretary and Clerk of the Executive Council); Communications Services; Corporate Services; Intergovernmental Affairs; Premier's Correspondence Unit; and Provincial Secretary.

The current (2019) President of the Executive Council is Scott Moe.

Custodial history

D. Grant Devine donated these records to the Provincial Archives of Saskatchewan in one accession in 1991: R91-281.

Scope and content

This series consists of records created, accumulated and used by the Clerk of the Executive Council/Assistant Cabinet Secretary in his/her role as secretary to the Regulations Review Committee during the Grant Devine Government in Saskatchewan.

The types of records included are correspondence; memoranda; briefing notes; meeting attendance records; and meeting agendas and minutes.

No sub-series were identified in this series.

Notes area

Physical condition

Records are in good physical condition.

Immediate source of acquisition


No arrangement was applied to the records. File titles provided by records creator.

Language of material

  • English

Script of material

  • Latin

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Records are subject to access restrictions

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Use, publication and/or reproduction of records subject to terms and conditions of the Copyright Act.

Finding aids

SAFA 685 consists of a series description and box listing of textual records.

Associated materials

Related materials


No further accruals are expected.

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

S 83

Institution identifier

Provincial Archives of Saskatchewan

Rules or conventions



Level of detail

Language of description

  • English

Script of description

  • Latin


Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres