Showing 6931 results

Authority record

The Flood Land Co.

  • Corporate body

William Hamilton Flood was at one time the manager and president of The Flood Land Co.


  • Corporate body
  • 1960-1973

In 1960, Ralph S. Misener, a Winnipeg shipping executive that was working on behalf of a company to be incorporated (Ralph S. Misener & Associates), received federal cabinet approval to bring a private television station to Winnipeg. Misener's associates included Lloyd Moffat, president of CKY Radio; T.O. Peterson, president of Investors' Syndicate of Canada Ltd. and previously had an interest in CFOB Radio in Fort Frances; Roland Couture, managing director of CKSB Radio St. Boniface; Walter E. Kroecker, president of CFAM Radio in Altona; and engineering consultant, Nick Pappas of N.J. Pappas & Associates of Montreal. The CJAY-TV call letters were approved by the Department of Transport and the new station was granted permission to broadcast over channel 7. The station hoped to be on the air November 1 with studios and offices to be located in a new building at the Polo Park Shopping Centre, south of the Winnipeg Arena. The building would feature over 60,000 square feet of floor space, two major studios of about 52 x 72 feet each and a smaller production studio of about 20 x 32 feet, with the expectation that underground cables would run to the arena so as to offer direct transmission of events.

At the inaugural meeting of Channel Seven Television Ltd., the following directors were elected: Ralph S. Misener, Lloyd E. Moffat, T.O. Peterson, Campbell Haig, Q.C., Walter E. Kroeker and Roland G. Couture. Misener was president, Moffat was VP, Peterson was treasurer, Haig was secretary and Jack M. Davidson was appointed general manager.. Davidson announced that A.G. Cobb (previously of CKWS Radio-TV in Kingston) would be CJAY's technical director, Stewart MacPherson program director, and Jerry Johnson (from CKBI-TV Prince Albert) general sales manager. This was followed by the hiring of Barry Gordon as production supervisor, Joe Gibson producer-director, Dick Seaborn musical director, Don McLean farm service director, Ed McCrea sales executive, Don Nairn sales co-ordinator, Barry Nicholls public service director, and Jack Wells was named sports commentator (who would would continue his newspaper work and sports commentating for CKY Radio)..

A short delay, meant that CJAY-TV signed on the air on November 12 1960 at 5:00 p.m with an hour-long program highlighting the official opening of CJAY-TV. The Honorable Erick F. Willis, lieutenant-governor of Manitoba was among the approximately 700 official guests on hand for the opening. On the first day CJAY boasted some 130 employees, while the building had large studios (each 50 x 70 feet), four control rooms, prop storage area, videotape centre and eight cameras.

On October 1, 1961 CJAY-TV joined the CTV network.

In 1973, the call letters of the station were changed to CKY-TV.

Brockelbank, John Hewgill, 1897-1977

  • Person
  • 1897-1977

John Hewgill Brockelbank was born in Heathcote, Grey County, Ontario on June 24, 1897. Along with his parents (Edward Brockelbank, Sarah Ann Hewgill Brockelbank), he moved to a homestead near North Battleford, Saskatchewan in 1911. While still a student, on March 31, 1917 he enlisted in the 196th Western University Battalion of the Canadian Expeditionary Force, embarking from Halifax two months later on June 2. He was discharged from military service on May 17, 1919.

After returning from the war, Brockelbank started a farm near Bjorkdale, Saskatchewan, became active in farmers’ organizations, and entered provincial politics under the party banner of the Co-operative Commonwealth Federation (CCF). His first election was in the June 1938 general election for the Tisdale Electoral Division. He would be twice re-elected in this riding before it was dissolved after the 1948 election, whereupon he switched to the new riding of Kelsey where he won four consecutive terms until his retirement in 1967. In 1941, he was chosen interim-leader of the CCF when leader George Hara Williams resigned his seat to enlist in the Army. Brockelbank ran for the leadership of the party in 1942, and although he lost to Tommy Douglas, he remained Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Assembly, as Douglas did not have a seat in the Legislature at the time. Following the CCF’s victory in the 1944 general election, Brockelbank was appointed to cabinet as Minister of Municipal Affairs. He would remain in cabinet until the CCF were defeated by the Ross Thatcher led Liberal Party in 1964. During his time in cabinet Brockelbank served as minister of the following portfolios: Municipal Affairs (1944-1948); Natural Resources and Industrial Development (1948-1950); Natural Resources (1950-1956); Mineral Resources (1953-1962); and Provincial Treasurer (1962-1964).

On May 24, 1974, Brockelbank received an honorary degree from the University of Saskatchewan (Regina Campus) [now known as University of Regina].

Brockelbank died on May 30, 1977.

McGill University

  • Corporate body
  • 1821-

Having roots as the Royal Institution for the Advancement of Learning (RIAL) created in 1801 under an Act of the Legislative Assembly of Lower Canada (41 George III Chapter 17, An Act for the establishment of Free Schools and the Advancement of Learning in this Province), McGill University is a public university located in Montréal, Québec. McGill University was formally established March 31, 1821 with the passage of its royal charter, but was not activated until 1929 when the Montreal Medical Institution that had been founded in 1823, became the college's first academic unit and Canada's first medical school. Although it was referred to as a university during its early years, the name University of McGill College was used during the 1840s and 1860s and the name McGill College was used from the 1860s to about 1910 during the time McGill offered both high school and university courses.

Results 6871 to 6880 of 6931