Showing 132 results

People and organizations
Primary Agency

Alberta. Department of Agriculture

  • Primary Agency
  • 1906-1992

The Agriculture Department already established in the North-West Territories was continued upon the formation of the new province of Alberta in 1905. The Agricultural Department Act officially established the Alberta Department of Agriculture in 1906 with the function and duties related to matters of agriculture, colonization, statistics, wildlife management, and public health, including hospitals.

Alberta. Department of Education

  • Primary Agency
  • 1905-1999

After the province was founded in 1905, the Alberta Department of Education continued the Department of Education of the previous North-West Territories government which operated under the School Ordinance (North-West Territories Ordinances, 1901, c.29, s.1). In 1922, the Department of Education Act (R.S.A. 1922, c. 16) and the School Act (R.S.A. 1922, c. 51) repealed and superseded the School Ordinance.

The Department of Education was dissolved on May 27, 1999 by Order in Council 243/1999 under the authority of the Government Organization Act (S.A. 1994, c. G–8.5).


  • Primary Agency

Canada. Canadian National Railway Company

  • GA 123
  • Primary Agency
  • 1919-1995

The Canadian National Railway Company was a federal Crown corporation incorporated on June 6, 1919. The company was established through a series of mergers that united several older and financially unstable railway companies (Grand Trunk, Grand Trunk Pacific, Intercolonial, Canadian Northern, Canadian Transcontinental) that built rail lines in Canada as far back as 1850. One of Canada's first Crown corporations, the company established its head office in Montreal, Quebec in 1923. The company was commonly referred to as Canadian National Railways or CNR from its inception until 1960, when it became known as Canadian National or CN.

The company's primary mandate was the operation of an extensive railway system in Canada and the United States. During its existence, the company also operated many subsidiary businesses, including hotels, cruise ships, truck companies, telephone services and telegraph lines. In 1923, the company established the first radio network in North America that later became the foundation of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC). In 1937, the Canadian government established a national airline known as TransCanada Air Lines and made it a subsidiary of the CNR. Several decades later, the airline was renamed Air Canada and in 1977 it became a separate company.

The Canadian National Railway Company was managed by a board of directors, appointed by the Governor in Council, and a president. In 1961, the number of members of the Board of Directors was increased from seven to twelve. The company's daily operations were managed by a variety of personnel, including directors, superintendents, station agents, mechanics, freight, ticket and passenger agents, and engineers.

The company's operations underwent many changes in the latter half of 20th century. Many prairie railway branch lines were closed after 1945 and passenger service was terminated in 1978. Many of the company's subsidiaries were sold in the 1980s. On November 28, 1995, the Government of Canada completed the sale of its remaining shares to the public and CN ceased to be owned by the Government. The company currently (2011) operates as a private-sector freight railway company with no other significant lines of business.

Canada. Department of Agriculture

  • Primary Agency
  • 1867-1995

Established as a body of the government of Canada by Order in Council on July 1, 1867 and it was given statutory basis by Statute 31 Victoria, c. 53, assented on May 22, 1868. The first minister of Agriculture was Jean-Charles Chapais (serving from 1867-07-05 to 1869-11-15), and the first deputy minister was appointed in 1868 (Joseph Charles Taché, serving 1868-05-29 to 1888).

On June 25, 1993, the department was to be restructured and named Agriculture and Agri-Food pending the passage of a Government Organization Act, however Parliament was dissolved before this change could take place. The changes outlined in this act to abolish the office of Minister of Agriculture and establish the office of Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food were enacted by passage of Statute 42-43, Elizabeth II, c. 38 (1994) that was assented to on November 24, 1994 and came into effect on January 12, 1995.

Canada. Department of Indian Affairs

  • Primary Agency
  • 1880-1936

The Indian Branch (established in 1868) was change to the Department of Indian Affairs in 1880. The Department was abolished in 1936 its functions were carried on by the Department of Mines and Mineral Resources, primarily under the Indian Affairs Branch.

Canada. Department of the Secretary of State for the Provinces

  • GA 2
  • Primary Agency
  • 1867-1873

In the reorganization of the Cabinet which confederation made necessary, two new secretarial offices were created - Secretary of State for the Provinces, and Secretary of State of Canada. Staff for the office of the Secretary of State for the Provinces was drawn from the Canada West Branch of the former Provincial Secretary's Office, while the Canada East Branch provided the personnel for the Department of Secretary of State of Canada.

Following the surrender of Rupert's Land by the Hudson's Bay Company to the new Dominion of Canada in 1869 and the subsequent passing of the Manitoba Act in 1870 (33 Vic., c. 3), the federal government, in 1872, devised the Dominion Lands Act (35 Vic., c. 23) as a means by which this vast new territory in the northwest would be administered and gradually brought into confederation. The Department of Secretary of State for the Provinces was originally designated as the federal department charged with administering this act, however, the following year, in 1873, Parliament abolished the Department and created an entirely new department, the Department of the Interior (36 Vic., c. 4), to take over this responsibility. This move effectively placed, within the jurisdiction of a single government department, all federal administrative duties for all unpatent lands west of the Manitoba/Ontario border, for all Ordnance and Admiralty Lands across the Dominion, for all Indian lands, and for all public lands not specifically under the mandate of the Departments of Public Works or Militia and Defence.

Results 1 to 10 of 132