Showing 114 results

Authority record
Secondary Agency

Canada. Army. Battalion, 11th

  • Secondary Agency
  • 1914-1917

Authorized on August 10, 1914, the 11th Battalion, Canadian Expeditionary Force recruited from places such as Prince Albert, Moose Jaw, Regina and Saskatoon, Saskatchewan and Winnipeg, Manitoba. The battalion mobilized at Camp Valcartier, Quebec before embarking for Great Britain on September 30, 1914. The battalion was redesignated 11th Reserve Infantry Battalion on April 29, 1915. On January 4, 1917 its personnel was absorbed by the new 11th Reserve Battalion (Manitoba), Canadian Expeditionary Force, that subsequently disbanded on October 12, 1917.

Canada. Canadian National Railway Company. Department of Colonization and Agriculture

  • GA 124
  • Secondary Agency
  • 1919-1963

In 1919, the Canadian National Railway Company (CNR), a federal Crown corporation, established a Department of Colonization and Agriculture to promote immigration and land settlement in Canada. The company believed that attracting settlers to farm in Canada would increase its rail traffic in certain regions and help dispose of some of its land grants, thus increasing its overall earnings. The company encouraged immigrants to settle adjacent to its rail lines and to use the railway to transport livestock, seed, supplies and other goods and services. In 1925, the Canadian Government, who relied on the railways to promote immigration, established the Railways Agreement. Under this agreement, the company was granted authority to select, transport and locate immigrants for permanent settlement in Canada. In Saskatchewan, the districts of Prince Albert, Kelvington, Henribourg and St. Walburg were direct targets of the CNR's settlement and branch line expansion.

The department was overseen by a director in Montreal, Quebec. Departmental personnel were located in the United Kingdom, Poland, the Ukraine and Germany, countries from which the company was particularly interested in attracting immigrants. The head office of the department's operations in western Canada was located in Winnipeg, Manitoba with district offices located in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan and Edmonton, Alberta. The department's western Canadian field agents researched settlement possibilities, met immigrants, assisted them in getting located and finding employment on farms and offered advice and training on Canadian farming methods.

The department continued its settlement work until ceasing operations in 1963.

Canada. Dept. of the Interior. School Lands Branch

  • GA 167
  • Secondary Agency
  • 1879-1930

The School Lands Branch was established in 1879 to administer lands that were reserved for education purposes under the Dominion Lands Act, 1872. The Act stated that sections 11 and 29 of every surveyed township were designated as school lands. Any revenue generated from the sale of these lands was to finance school construction and the purchase of school supplies.

The rapidly increasing population of the western Canadian territories and the need for federal assistance to help build educational facilities necessitated special legislation by the Canadian government. This law also resulted in the creation of a separate School Lands Branch within the Department of the Interior to administer the terms of the act. The Branch was responsible for arranging public auctions for the sale of school lands, inspecting property, and setting the price for land. The lands could not be sold until a fair market value could be attained; in the interim, the land was often leased for grazing, timber, and/or haying purposes. Monies collected for these purposes were added to the territorial/provincial education endowment.

The School Lands Branch was placed under the direction of Frank Checkley from 1879 to 1918. Initially, the Branch reported to the Minister of the Department of the Interior through the Commissioner of Dominion Lands. In 1909, the Branch reported directly to the Minister. In 1918, the status of the Branch was downgraded to a Division, and it was placed back under the authority of the Dominion Lands Branch, and was renamed the Dominion Lands Bureau. The unit was disbanded in 1930 when the management of natural resources and dedicated Crown Lands in the western provinces was transferred to the provinces. In Saskatchewan, this authority transferred to the Department of Natural Resources, Lands Branch which operated from 1930 to 1944.

Results 1 to 10 of 114